What Are The Different Types of Buddha Statues and Their Meanings?

Buddha statues are not only beautiful works of art but also hold great significance in Buddhist culture and philosophy. These statues come in various forms, each representing different aspects of the Buddha's life and teachings. In this blog post, we will explore the different types of Buddha statues and delve into the meanings they carry.

1. The Standing Buddha:

The Standing Buddha statue depicts the enlightened one in an upright standing position. It typically features one hand raised in the gesture of fearlessness or reassurance (abhaya mudra), while the other hand is lowered with the palm facing outward (varada mudra). This representation symbolizes compassion, courage, and the Buddha's readiness to help and guide others.

2. The Reclining Buddha:

The Reclining Buddha statue portrays the Buddha lying down on his right side, with his head supported by his right hand. This form represents the final moments of the Buddha's life before achieving parinirvana, which signifies ultimate liberation from the cycle of birth and death. The Reclining Buddha symbolizes serenity, peace, and the attainment of enlightenment.

3. The Sitting Buddha:

Perhaps the most well-known type of Buddha statue, the Sitting Buddha, depicts the enlightened one seated in the lotus position (cross-legged) with both hands resting on his lap, palms facing upward. This posture, known as the meditation or dhyana mudra, represents inner peace, mindfulness, and deep concentration. The Sitting Buddha serves as a reminder of the potential for enlightenment within all individuals.

4. The Earth-Touching Buddha:

The Earth-Touching Buddha statue portrays Buddha seated in the lotus position with his right hand reaching down to touch the Earth, while the left hand rests on his lap. This gesture, called the bhumisparsha mudra, symbolizes the moment of the Buddha's enlightenment when he called upon the Earth as his witness. The Earth-Touching Buddha represents steadfastness, determination, and the triumph over ignorance and delusion.

5. The Teaching Buddha:

The Teaching Buddha statue, also known as the Dharma Chakra mudra, features the Buddha seated in the lotus position with both hands raised to his chest, with the thumb and index finger forming a circle. This gesture signifies the turning of the wheel of Dharma, representing the Buddha's first sermon and the dissemination of his teachings. The Teaching Buddha embodies wisdom, knowledge, and the guidance provided by the Buddha's teachings.


Buddha statues serve as powerful symbols that encapsulate the essence of Buddhist teachings and philosophy. Each type of Buddha statue carries its own unique meaning and symbolism, providing a visual representation of the qualities and virtues associated with the Buddha's life and enlightenment. Whether it is the compassionate nature of the Standing Buddha, the serene tranquility of the Reclining Buddha, or the wisdom imparted by the Teaching Buddha, these statues offer inspiration and guidance on the path to inner transformation and spiritual growth. By understanding the different types of Buddha statues and their meanings, we can deepen our appreciation for Buddhist art and culture while embracing the profound messages they convey.
Back to blog